Friday, February 22, 2008

Erik's Random 10

"New Sad" is off of Marc Ribot's fascinating Rootless Cosmopolitans album, released in 1990. An early Ribot classic, it combines his own compositions with interesting covers of "While My Guitar Gently Weeps," "Mood Indigo," and "The Wind Cries Mary." "New Sad" is a trio piece that sort of splits the difference between the soulful playing of the Cuban albums and the experimental work that so often dominates his albums. With Don Byron on clarinet and Melvin Gibbs also on guitar, "New Sad" is one of the quieter and more interesting songs on this underappreciated gem of an album.

1. Marc Ribot, New Sad
2. Brownie Ford, Don't Let the Deal Go Down
3. Naked City, Obeah Man
4. Nail Kesova, Hor Bakma Sen Topraga
5. Duke Ellington, Toot Toot Tootie Toot
6. Frederick Soegaard, Track 4 from Multiverse
7. Larry Cordle & Lonesome Standard Time, Can't Let Go
8. Sly and the Family Stone, Africa Talks To You
9. Television, Mars
10. Frank Zappa, Sweet Leilani